Quick Case Study:
In 2016 we took a supercar rental agency (that had just built their website AKA a brand new website) from zero visits a month to well over 2,000 visitors a month. Ranking 1st for the most competitive terms related to this business.
From our £1,000 per month campaign this client closed over £19,000 in sales (rentals) every month and has now branched out into other areas & keywords. They have been a client for almost 2 years and continue to generate over 1500% ROI each month.
We wanted to include some proof to demonstrate what results to expect from making the aforementioned SEO detailed above because you might be thinking
Wow that sounds like a lot of work, why should I bother?
As TIME=MONEY we wanted to run through a basic ROI guide to calculating potential return on investment from SEO campaigns. We don’t want this to be too long so we will do a local campaign example to see just how effective ranking is and if the ROI is worth your time and/or financial investment.
Should You Invest?
ROI Local Campaign Mini Case Study:
Using a web design agency as an example and Cardiff as the local example city.
We used Google’s Keyword Planner to find that Primary Keywords associated with “web design Cardiff” (excluding the long tail keywords) get a total of 1,500 searches a month.
Removing 20% of these (due to designers like to search themselves to see where they are ranking) gives us 1,200 monthly searches, a good number to use as an example and the actual figure is probably a lot higher if we include the long tail keywords.
Ranking #1 will give us approximately 35% of the traffic (this is a low estimate) and means we will receive 1,200 x 0.35 = 420 targeted visitors a month.
Assuming a poor sales strategy, and assuming the business only closes the industry average of 3%, still means you generate 12-13 new clients per month.
If the lifetime value of a customer is £2,000 which is approximately right for a web developer. That means you will be generating around £24,000 (as a low estimate) per month in additional revenue.
This shows the power of ranking number 1 in your specific industry, it also shows how profitable our campaigns can be, for a £1,000 per month campaign you would be looking at a 2,400% ROI every single month (likely triple this if the website converted better too.)
Also on a psychological note; prospects want to work with the very best, so if you appear #1 then subconsciously they are reaching out to you knowing you are the best in the field.
Ranking #1 = Instant Massive Trust
£24,000 a month is £288,000 in sales per year, although it might take 6-12 months to rank #1 for all of your primary keywords, the ROI once you are ranking is a long way above the next best marketing channel.
Whether you are investing your time or you are paying an SEO company we highly recommend making SEO a cornerstone of your marketing strategy.